Ten new cases of COVID-19 detected in six Alaska communities

April 1, 2020 ANCHORAGE — The Alaska Department of Health and Social Services (DHSS) today announced 10 new cases of COVID-19 in six Alaska communities – Anchorage (2), Fairbanks (3), North Pole (2), Juneau (1), Ketchikan (1) and Wasilla (1). This brings the total case count in Alaska to 143.

One of the new cases is an older adult (60+); eight are adults aged 30-59; and one is a younger adult aged 19-29. Seven are female and three are male. Two of the cases are close contacts of previously diagnosed cases and eight are still under investigation. There are no new known hospitalizations.

So far the communities in Alaska that have had laboratory-confirmed cases include Anchorage (including JBER), Eagle River/Chugiak, Girdwood, Homer, Fairbanks, North Pole, Ketchikan, Juneau Palmer, Wasilla, Seward, Soldotna, Sterling and Kenai.

Stay informed

Alaska’s Response

  • Find more information about how to keep yourself and your family healthy at the DHSS webpage, coronavirus.alaska.gov
  • Visit the governor’s webpage on COVID-19 at gov.alaska.gov/covid19news
  • Visit ready.alaska.gov/covid19 on the Division of Homeland Security & Emergency Management webpage for Unified Command information, community press releases and other documents.

United States Response

Global Response

This press release covers new cases between March 31 at 3 p.m. and April 1 at 3 p.m. when daily case counts are updated at coronavirus.alaska.gov.

Leave a Reply