Fifteen new cases of COVID-19 detected in seven Alaska communities

April 12, 2020 — The Alaska Department of Health and Social Services (DHSS) today announced 15 new cases of COVID-19 in seven Alaska communities – Anchorage (5), Fairbanks (3), Girdwood (1) Juneau (1), Ketchikan (1), Palmer (1), Wasilla (3). This brings the total case count in Alaska to 272.

These new cases were reported from 12:00 a.m. until 11:59 p.m. on April 11 and reflect data posted at noon today on

Of the new cases, seven are male and eight are female. One is under age 10; two are aged 10-19; two are aged 20-29; one is aged 30-39; one is aged 40-49; three are aged 50-59, four are aged 60-69 and one is aged 80+. No new hospitalizations or deaths were reported yesterday.

Stay informed

Alaska’s Response

  • Find more information about how to keep yourself and your family healthy at the DHSS webpage,
  • Visit the governor’s webpage on COVID-19 at
  • Visit on the Division of Homeland Security & Emergency Management webpage for Unified Command information, community press releases and other documents.

United States Response

Global Response

Questions about COVID-19?

  • For general questions and assistance, please call 2-1-1.
  • For the general public, questions regarding DHSS COVID response, including mandates and alerts, can be sent to
  • Health care providers should direct clinical questions to the Section of Epidemiology.
  • For DHSS media inquiries, please contact

Leave a Reply