Twelve new cases of COVID-19 reported in nine Alaska communities; one new nonresident case

June 16, 2020 ANCHORAGE — The Alaska Department of Health and Social Services (DHSS) today announced 12 new cases of COVID-19 in residents of nine communities: Anchorage (4), Bethel Census Area (1), City of Kenai (1), Eagle River (1), Girdwood (1), Homer (1), Soldotna (1), South Kenai Peninsula Borough (1) and Wasilla (1). This brings the total number of Alaska cases to 676.

One new nonresident case was also identified yesterday in a seafood industry worker in the Municipality of Anchorage. This brings the total number of nonresident cases to 77.

Of the new Alaska cases, four are male and eight are female. One is aged 10-19; four are aged 20-29; two are aged 40-49; four are aged 50-59; and one is aged 60-69. There have been a total of 54 hospitalizations and 12 deaths with one new hospitalization and no new deaths reported yesterday. Recovered cases now total 429, with 12 new recovered cases recorded yesterday. A total of 76,215 tests have been conducted. The average percentage of daily positive tests for the previous three days is 0.51%.

This report reflects data from 12:00 a.m. until 11:59 p.m. on June 15 that posted at noon today on the Alaska Coronavirus Response Hub. Please note that upon further investigation and interviews, data points for cases – such as the date and residence – may on occasion change on the data dashboard after they are announced.

Stay informed

Questions about COVID-19?


Leave a Reply